Annual G.I.R.L. Scholarship Program

Gamers In Real Life Annual Scholarship Program for 2010 sponsored by Sony Online EntertainmentThe 2010 G.I.R.L. Scholarship is now open for applications in order to help recruit more women and educate them into the environment of video game development and production. The program is sponsored by the global leader in online gaming Sony Online Entertainment LLC (SOE), and administered by a leading non-profit educational support program called Scholarship America.

Applications are available at, and the official rules for entry at

Vice President of Global Sales and Marketing at Sony Online Entertainment Laura Naviaux said that the past two G.I.R.L. Scholarship winners were such a valued addition to their team, that they are thrilled to offer this program for the third consecutive years. She also stated that their goal is to continue to encourage and reward women who share their commitment and passion for developing cutting edge online games for all demographic groups.

$10,000 will be awarded to one skilled student, which money will be applied toward the tuition and other educational expenses at the school at which the student is currently in plus an optional internship for up to ten weeks at one of the SOE's studios, while room, board and transportation expenses are not included)

Participants must be currently enrolled in an undergraduate program related to video games in order to be eligible to participate. The programs related to video games include video game art, design, animation, production, programming or visual effects. Participants must not graduate before the end of the 2011 spring term, and they must also comply with the official rules of the program.

The Participants are required to complete and submit an online application before 15th February 2010, and provide an existing piece of art. If chosen as semifinalists, they must provide two concept art pieces and one essay, which will be reviewed by the panel of the SOE judges.

Sony Online Entertainment will announce the winner on 20th May 2010.


User Rating: 0 votes